My Itinerary for Visiting Home (Toronto) this Spring!

Well, loves, I’m heading home for a visit this Spring. From early-May to mid-June, I will be in Toronto, and the surrounding area. It’s all thanks to my sister and my brother-in-law whom have graciously and generously offered to fly me home for a month and a half. 

So far, it’s been narrowed down to these fabulous places to see and do 🙂

So, after searching for some surreal places to see in Ontario, a few places that have been decided upon are:

Tobermory is off of Lake Huron, and is about a four hour drive outside of Toronto. If you ever get a chance, you must visit this place! If you haven’t already.

Image result for flowerpot island
Flowerpot Island

photo credit

Have you been to or have seen Flowerpot Island? Flowerpot Island is part of the Fathom Five National Marine Park. It’s one of the most popular places to visit from tourists when they visit Toronto. Plus, it’s one of the most surreal places to see in Canada, not just Ontario, as many list of places to see in Ontario and Canada state. There is hiking, a beach called Singing Sands, caves, camping and more. 

Bruce Peninsula National Park In Ontario Is Ranked One Of The Best Parks In Canada featured image
Bruce Peninsula National Park

photo credit

Bruce Peninsula National Park, another must see. What’s in Bruce Peninsula, is also what’s been on many lists as a surreal place to see in Ontario and in Canada; the Grotto. At the Grotto, there is also hiking, caves, a beach and more. 

Image result for bruce peninsula national park
Grotto

photo credit

Image result for bruce peninsula national park
Grotto

photo credit

Take a boat tour, and to see the oh-so many ship wrecks. Apparently, there are too many ship wrecks. 

Niagara-on-the-Lake, can you believe that I have not ever been here?! I know. It’s crazy! I can’t believe it either. Oh, I’ve been to the natural wonder of the world, called Niagara Falls in Canada and in United States. So, this will be fantastic! I was always told that Niagara-on-the-Lake is a place that is just full of wineries, even though that is true, there is also what appears to be a whole beautiful city, with so much to do. Niagara-on-the-Lake is off of the lake called Lake Ontario. And, I will be going on the Welland Canal, that connects Lake Ontario and Lake Eerie. 

Prince Edward County, the two freshest sandbars in the world are here, that are also quite large. In addition, the wineries will be nice to see. 

I will then be travelling to Beamsville, for an afternoon to visit my friend who had moved to the city with her boyfriend a year ago, for lunch and to see her new townhouse :). I’m looking forward to seeing my friend. A fun fact: A grandfather of mine, who was a German-American, was given eight acres of land in Ontario, from the King of England, to do what he wants with it. He anglicized his German surname upon receiving this reward. So, I have two reasons to visit Beamsville :). I had been told that in city hall has a photo of my grandfather, plus a backstory of him and how he attained this land. 

1000 Islands, maybe?

Image result for royal ontario museum
Royal Ontario Museum (ROM)

photo credit

Image result for ago

photo credit

Image result for princess of wales theatre
Princess  of Wales Theatre

photo credit

Image result for princess of wales theatre
Princess of Wales Theatre

photo credit

Image result for Rogers Cup

photo credit

 

Then do some walking around Toronto. I have to go to the ROM; Yorkville; Little Italy; AGO; a new Parisienne restaurant that my sister says is awesome; catch a show, called Phantom of the Opera, can you believe that I have not seen it, yet? Well, I should be. I’ll be visiting a few more people in and around Toronto, like Mississauga. Not sure exactly what is going to happen. I am going to see my father, of course. Maybe catch a Blue Jays game at the SkyDome (sorry, I still call it the SkyDome, not, what is it? Roger’s Centre? LOL). I’d love to go to a tennis match at the Rogers Cup, while I’m there. I love sporting events. I’m not one to watch sports on TV, except maybe baseball. Side note: I’m super stoked that North America (Canada, United States and Mexico) will be hosting FIFA in 2026!!! I’m going to have to go to Toronto to watch a game, or travel to Edmonton to catch a soccer game. The FIFA cup and the Euro cup were huge in my house. My step-father, who no longer is my step-father is Portuguese. It was the only time we would watch soccer on TV. I can speak Spanglish, in addition to Frenglish, and like five words I had learned in Portuguese. One of those words is Forca Portugal!, which translates to, “Go Portugal!” There’s a posterphie under the “c” in Forca, making the “c” soft. I had quite a mult-cultural upbringing. LOL! There’s this French bistro in Toronto that I like called, Le Select. Oh, and the Toronto Harbour front.

Image result for osgoode hall toronto
Osgoode Hall

photo credit 

Image result for casa loma toronto
Casa Loma

photo credit

Before coming out to Calgary, I had gone to and had a tour of Osgoode Hall. The old courtrooms, so British, so amazing. The building is quite amazing. And, Casa Loma. I have only been here a few times. Once for my cousin’s wedding. I finally had a tour of the castle. It’s quite spectacular. 

 

Tadoussac, Quebec. To eat French cuisine, to do some whale-watching. There are thirteen spices of whales and dolphins that can be seen. Like belugas, which have become extinct in Quebec. Fun fact: The Hudson Bay in Churchill, Manitoba has the most belugas in the world. The population is 60,000. You can even swim with them. Anyway, there are humpbacks, minke whales, belugas, dolphins, and more. With a few other visitors according to a few Tadoussac whale-watching sites, that include harp seals (so cute) in the Winter until late-May, and harbour seal that is there all-year round. Tadoussac has become known by tourists as the best place in the world to go whale-watching. I’ve heard that British Columbia also is great. They have Ocra (Killer Whales, that are actually dolphins, plus other whales). Tadoussac is going to be sooo much fun!!!

Image result
Harp Seal

photo credit

Image result for harp seal
Harp Seal

photo credit

Image result
Tadoussac, Quebec

photo credit

Do you have any ideas of what to see and do in Toronto, and the surrounding area? 

Xo,

Stacey

Comments

2 responses to “My Itinerary for Visiting Home (Toronto) this Spring!”

  1. Julie K. Avatar

    Had no idea how many things you can do in Toronto in spring… Going to the Singing Sands beach for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stacey Hobbs Avatar

      There really is so much fun things to do in Toronto! I’ve just recently learned that the freshest water in the world is in Tobermory, the Georgian Bay.
      Where are you coming from, if I may ask?

      Like

Leave a Reply