Cod Cooked in White Wine, Lemon & Dill Sauce – Sandwich for Lunch

Yes, I know cod isn’t vegan. However, I don’t have a choice when your doctor and physical therapist is telling you for health reasons, you’ve got to eat fish, especially cod and salmon. 

So, I had some cod left in my freezer, and decided to cook a piece. 

I cooked the cod in a sauce, that I really like, and can be used to cook vegetables in, I believe, have not yet tried it. Will soon, though. If you do, please comment!

The recipe for sauce is as follows: 

  • 1/4 teaspoons (2 1/8 teaspoons) garlic powder
  • ½ cup dry cooking white wine
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons of fresh dill or dill weed
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, divided
  • ½ teaspoon fine salt
  • ½ teaspoon fresh ground black pepper

Instructions:

I defrosted the cod. Once defrosted, I placed butter on both sides, and saved the remaining butter for later. 

I combined all of the ingredients into my small saucepan on high heat. Once boiled, I turned it down to medium heat. I added the remaining butter, waited for it to boil once more, then added my cod. I let it cook for ten minutes or until it began falling apart. 

Once my 100% whole-wheat bread was toasted, I broke apart the cod and voila! A yummy lunch.

Xo,

Stacey

 


Posted

in

, ,

by

Comments

Leave a Reply